With only the moon as my witness… (#solTuesday)

From time to time I like to participate in Instagram yoga challenges. Posting a different yoga pose each day keeps me connected to my yoga community and also fuels my creative outlets.

I jumped into one this week called #posesandpoems and each day calls for a yoga pose AND some writing. Yesterday asked for a six-word story about my life and today requested some words to follow this prompt: With only the moon as my witness…
⠀⠀
Here are some words pieced together from countless cold winter nights spent walking outside under the light of the moon:
⠀⠀
With only the moon as my witness, I breathe in the cold and still night air.
Treetops silhouetted black breathe out against the purple hues of sky.
⠀⠀
Thoughts dare to speak up.
Questions demand their fair share of airtime.
I breathe in.
The trees breathe out,
holding steady space as my mind swirls, shifts, and then gratefully settles.
⠀⠀
The crisp sharp crunch of snow under my boots works in tandem with the frozen quality of my nostrils to signal that familiar near-zero temperature.
No insulating clouds.
No distracting winds.
Just me, the snow, the stars, the trees, the cold alpine air, and one reliable and steady orb of witness.

3 thoughts on “With only the moon as my witness… (#solTuesday)

Add yours

  1. I, too, appreciated the breathing-tree relationship. I look at the bare trees in our neighborhood and marvel at the similarity to our own cardiovascular and nervous systems. Everything is connected! Thank you, too, for the sensorial description; it has been a warm winter here in central Texas, and I long for alpine temps.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your words leave me with a deep sense of peace; I particularly like the connection to the trees, you breathing in, trees breathing out … like yoga …the word than comes to mind is “balance.” I am often outside in the dark with a new puppy and the moon has been so lovely, the stars so bright. Your post reminds me of these still, deep moments.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑